Johannes Brahms - Piano Concerto no.1

Too innovative for its time, Brahms’s Piano Concerto no.1, premiered in Hanover in 1859, needed a few years to become established in the repertory. It is a work that redefines the norms of the genre. The traditional confrontation between virtuoso soloist and orchestra is bypassed in favour of a balanced treatment and a more ‘symphonic’ approach. The Ballades op.10 too derive from the impetus towards a renewal of forms characteristic of the young Brahms’s output.

Disc 1
Piano concerto no.1 op.15 in D minor
I. Maestoso-Poco piu moderato
II. Adagio
III. Rondo. Allegro ma non troppo
Ballads op.10
Andante (D minor)
Andante (D major)
Intermezzo- Allegro (B minor)
Andante con moto (B major)

Other records