Joseph Haydn - Piano Sonatas

An inventor of genius
Haydn’s relationship with the keyboard was so intimate and inspirational that it enabled him to develop any number of ideas of the most varied character, from the most whimsical to the most dramatic: highly attractive music – in general dedicated to ladies – that combines mischievousness, ingenuousness, eloquence and lyricism. A whole art of contrast, interpreted with unique grace by Paul Lewis!

Disc 1
Sonata Hob. XVI:49
E-flat major / Mi bémol majeur / Es-Dur
I. Allegro
II. Adagio cantabile
III. Finale. Tempo di menuetto
Sonata Hob. XVI:50
C major / Ut majeur / C-Dur
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegro molto
Sonata Hob. XVI:32
B minor / Si mineur / b-Moll
I. Allegro moderato
II. Menuet
III. Finale. Presto
Sonata Hob. XVI:40
G major / Sol majeur / G-Dur
I. Allegretto innocente
II. Presto

Other records